Basic Toddler Socks

Free Pattern – Basic Toddler Socks

Staying at home has allowed for plenty of time to finish this pattern. I made several versions of this sock before I got it just the way I want it. My little grand-baby will have plenty of wool socks. I was hoping she could model them for my pattern but alas, I can not see her for a while. If anyone knits these, please post on Ravelry.

When it comes to patterns for socks, there are plenty sized for babies or kids but few are designed just for toddlers. Rather than making big baby socks or small kid socks, I designed a sock just for the little feet of toddlers. Measure your toddler’s foot from heal to toe and pick a size on the chart. You can make them a little longer or shorter as needed, just start the toe decrease ½ inch before the desired length.

The pattern calls for a sock yarn that is about 14 w.p.i. Since you only need a relatively small amount of yarn, this is a good project for remnants. Most people want a washable yarn for their toddler’s socks. However, I wouldn’t hesitate to use handspun yarn as long as the person doing the washing understands how to care for the fiber used. Since the required yardage is so scant this pattern is great for handspun yarn. 

The skill level of this pattern is Intermediate.  It’s best done by someone who knows how to knit, purl, do simple decreases, and knit in the round with double pointed needles. At the end you have to do a kitchener stitch to close the toe. I think it would work great for someone making their first pair of socks!  

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Basic Toddler Socks

  1. Lynne McGrath

    I downloaded your Basic Toddler Sock pattern and I love it! Thank you! I have one question on the heel written portion; when you reference the sl1k, do you mean slip stitch as knitwise instead of typically slipping purlwise?

    Like

    Reply
    1. fleeceloveandhappiness Post author

      Hello. I’m so glad you asked because I did design this is an atypical way. It’s to be done as written and works to bring the heel in narrowly (although the heel is thick) . The slip is just a slip of the K stitch.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Sabrina

    Hi there! Thanks for the pattern. I am curious about the heel. We repeat the sl1, k1 rows 9 times to create the heel flap and then go to turn the heel. Am I missing something or did we go from 20 stitches to 15 stitches without decreasing?

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Show Notes: Fresh Swatches – Merryweather Living

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.