Dyeing with Mushrooms

Fall arrived in Washington State and the mushrooms came out. After buying and reading the book The Rainbow Beneath My Feet: A Mushroom Dyer’s Field Guide by Arleen Bessette and Alen Bessette, I was sprung on the idea of collecting and using mushrooms for dye. My husband and I journeyed out into the woods in mid October and found several kinds of mushrooms to try. Because it was rainy I didn’t want to bring my field guides opting for using my best guess, then picking them to bring home to identify. As it so happened, I was unable to identify most of the mushrooms that I picked. Even with the excellent book Mushrooms Demystified by David Arora I was left without anything concrete to make notes about. I had imagined a system where I’d identify the mushroom, make notes of the mordant, pH, and time spent in the pot. I started recording what I could on scraps of paper but they eventually ended up in the garbage. What I did end up with was several shade of yellow yarn and some dreaded beige. However, I am not discouraged and plan to go mushroom hunting again and try for better identification.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.