Rock Climbing Hat

You may know that I love wool and knitting but rock climbing is also at the top of my list. My local craig is Lime Kiln Canyon in Northern Arizona. I live in Nevada but I’m right on the boarder of Arizona and I’m a stone’s throw from Utah. We chose this place to live because it’s close to all our favorite rock climbing areas. We get really great weather here this time of year but if it’s a little cold a nice wool cap will make the hike up to the craig comfortable. But enough about climbing! Let’s talk knitting!

I designed these hats as a way to use up small amounts of yarn. Quick draws and ropes come in all kinds of bright colors so I thought it would be fun to put together a pattern that used up these tiny bright scraps. I used fingering weight 100% wool yarns by Knit Picks.

The first hat I made for myself and I used my favorite dark blue color as the base. After I made my husband a dark green hat I decided it was a slightly better color combination so I used his for the creation of the actual pattern that I wrote. Of course if you make this hat you can use any colors you like.

Here’s the Free Pattern for Rock Climbing Hat. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Rock Climbing Hat

  1. Jean Piana

    I am currently knitting the “Rock Climbing Hat.” I hope to donate this to the International Climbers Festival next year in Lander, Wyoming. I am struggling to knit with three colors as in rows 13 and 14. Is there a secret? Thanks in advance for your reply.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Anonymous

      Hi! There’s a few ways to hols the yarns when doing 3 colors. I hold the dominate color/contracting color in my left hand and the other 2 in my right. For me the rows with 3 colors just go really slow. I love that you are going to donate a hat!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.